Strawberries

Navigate
Current
Archives
Extras
Profile
Fans
E-mail
Notes
Book
Design
D-Land

I Am A Rock
2002-05-20 at 9:18 p.m.

I Am A Rock - Paul Simon

A winter's day

In a deep and dark December.

I am alone,

gazing from my window

to the streets below

on a freshly fallen, silent shroud of snow.

I am a rock.

I am an island.

I've built walls,

a fortress deep and mighty,

that none may penetrate.

I have no need of friendship,

friendship causes pain.

It's laughter and it's loving I disdain.

I am a rock.

I am an island.

Don't talk of love;

well, I've heard the word before;

It's sleeping in my memory,

I won't disturb the slumber

of feelings that have died.

If I never loved

I never would have cried.

I am a rock.

I am an island.

I have my books

and my poetry to protect me;

I am shielded in my armour,

hiding in my room, safe within my womb.

I touch no one

and no one touches me.

I am a rock.

I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain

And an island never cries.

before ++ after

Jesus
Saves

Loves
Kitty

Hates
Passive Smoking