Strawberries

Navigate
Current
Archives
Extras
Profile
Fans
E-mail
Notes
Book
Design
D-Land

Love Love Love... what is love?
2002-04-03 at 7:31 p.m.

Quotes from William Shakespeare:

1)Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind;

And therefore is winged Cupid painted blind.

2)Love is a smoke made with the fume of sighs,

Being purged, a fire sparkling in lovers' eyes,

Being vexed, a sea nourished with lovers' tears.

What is it else? A madness most discreet,

A choking gall and a preserving sweet.

From Cervantes, Miguel de

'Tis said of love that it sometimes goes, sometimes flies; runs with one, walks gravely with another; turns a third into ice, and sets a fourth in a flame: it wounds one, another it kills: like lightning it begins and ends in the same moment: it makes that fort yield at night which it besieged but in the morning; for there is no force able to resist it."

Edgar Allan Poe - A Dream within a Dream

Take this kiss upon the brow!

And, in parting from you now,

Thus much let me avow�

You are not wrong, who deem

That my days have been a dream;

Yet if Hope has flown away

In a night, or in a day,

In a vision, or in none,

Is it therefore the less gone?

All that we see or seem

Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar

Of a surf-tormented shore,

And I hold within my hand

Grains of golden sand�

How few! yet how they creep

Through my fingers to the deep,

While I weep�while I weep!

O God! can I not grasp

Them with a tighter clasp?

O God! can I not save

One from the pitiless wave?

Percy Bysshe Shelley - Music, When Soft Voices Die

Music, when soft voices die,

Vibrates in the memory�

Odours, when sweet violets sicken,

Live within the sense they quicken.

Rose leaves, when the rose is dead,

Are heap'd for the beloved's bed;

And so thy thoughts when thou are gone,

Love itself shall slumber on.

before ++ after

Jesus
Saves

Loves
Kitty

Hates
Passive Smoking